Genealogy and Local History: Historical Photographs, Radios shows and Newspapers

The Baker-Barber Collection chronicles the history of Western North Carolina from 1884 to the mid 1990s. It includes photographs of urbanization, transportation, recreation, tourism, family life, business, news, events, and many portraits of area residents. The Baker-Barber Collection website will be down for a scheduled upgrade until Wednesday, April 19.

This collection consists of select prints made from glass plates and donated by the family to UNC-Asheville in 1978.

Audio recordings of Kermit Edney’s series of 250 short programs on WHKP radio in 1996. These programs captured stories and anecdotes of 20th Century Henderson County history. These were created to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the radio station and were later published as the book Where Fitz Left Off.

Chronicling America is a website that gives access to and information about historic American newspapers from 1789-1963. Includes full-text searching for some papers.

Full text versions of Hendersonville Times-News from 1951 through 2005. Coverage is not complete and the pre-1951 dates are incorrect.

This resources contains 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers including 11 from Henderson County.

NewspaperArchive North Carolina Newspapers holds past issues of newspapers from throughout North Carolina including Hendersonville and Henderson County. In particular this site hosts the archival copies of the Hendersonville Lightning.