Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SEARCH THE LIBRARY CATALOG
ONLINE GENEALOGY RESOURCES
Ancestry.com Library Edition
Ancestry.com Library Edition provides access to a wide variety of resources including United States and United Kingdom census records, military records, immigration records, and court and probate records among others. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic ProQuest has extended Ancestry.com remote access through December 2021. Patrons can log in at home with their library card and PIN number.
Henderson County Public Library is an affiliate library. Patrons using library computers or wifi can access affiliate library genealogical records. This free website was created by the Church of Latter-Day Saints. Researchers are required to set up a free account.
This resource contains millions of records relating to U.S. Military personnel and history. Documents include stories, photographs and official records.
A subscription-based site provided by the library through NCLIVE. Records unique to HeritageQuest include Revolutionary War pension records, Freedman’s bank records and hundred of books available through PERSI.
USEFUL GENEALOGY LINKS
DAR Genealogical Research System
Designed to assist researchers with the DAR membership, the website contains access to records collected by the society since its founding in 1890.
Henderson County, North Carolina Cemeteries
Digital version of the 1995 book compiled by the Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society.
Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society
Contains contact information for the Henderson County Genealogical and Historical Society, hours of operations and list of publications put out by the society among other things
National Archives Genealogy Page
The National Archives and Records Administration Genealogy web page was designed to give genealogy researchers a logical starting point for their research. NARA does not provide links to documents, instead they provide finding aids to help you locate the physical documents.
Old Buncombe Genealogical Society
Website for genealogical society from one of Henderson County’s neighboring counties. The site contains contact information for the group and links to Buncombe County resources. The society has also provided for a search engine to search the contents of the website.
State Archives of North Carolina Research Page
Researchers webpage for the State Archives website. Here you can find what collections are held at the State Archives, what digital collections they have available and what other services they offer.
OTHER GENEALOGY RESOURCES HELD IN THE NORTH CAROLINA ROOM