LibGuides: Business and Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business

Search for Books, Articles, and More

Use the Everything search to find books, eBooks, book chapters, journal articles, magazine articles, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more.

Use the limiters in the left sidebar to refine your search by subject, publication date, type of publication, etc.

Use the Article search to find journal articles, magazine articles, trade publications, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.

Use the limiters in the left sidebar to refine your search by subject, publication date, type of publication, etc.

If you would like to search or browse a specific journal or magazine, use our Journal Title Search.

Starting a Business

Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Database that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
Entrepreneurial Mindset Training Course This link opens in a new window
Online, self-paced course for determining whether starting a business is right for you
Learning how to think like an entrepreneur can change your life. Whether you want to build a business, transform your organization, or reinvent your career, an entrepreneurial mindset provides a new perspective; one that will expose new opportunities, ignite your ambition and cultivate the confidence and the creativity, the self-reliance and the resourcefulness that are essential for anyone to adapt and thrive in today’s rapidly changing world.

Creating a Business Plan

Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Database that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.

U.S. Small Business Administration
U.S. Small Business Administration provides resources and support for small businesses. The website has sample business plans, a startup cost calculator, and more.

Marketing

Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.
The U.S. Business database contains a total of 95 million businesses including 18 million businesses verified and 77 million unverified businesses that are updated weekly. It is the only business database that is enhanced with more than 24 million phone calls per year providing you with the most accurate data possible. Selection criteria include: Company name, Executive title, Business type, Sales volume, Employee size, Year established, and more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, crime and more. 1790- present
Social Explorer helps you gain deep insights into any location of interest through thousands of data variables and stunning visualizations, and reinforces your decisions with reliable data mapping capabilities.

Learn Computer Skills

Northstar Digital Literacy Assessment This link opens in a new window
Northstar makes available free, online self-guided computer skills assessments and classes for individuals. To begin using Northstar click the link above and follow the instructions to create a Northstar account.
Examples of available modules include:

Internet Basics
Using Email
MS Windows
Word
Excel
PowerPoint
Mac OS
Google Docs

To learn how to receive a certificate for a class, contact the Main Library at 828-697-4725, opt #3.
Blue Ridge Community College Continuing Education This link opens in a new window
The Continuing Education Blue Ridge Community College in Western North Carolina offers a variety of in-person computer courses.
GCF Global This link opens in a new window
For almost 20 years, the GCFGlobal.org program has helped millions around the world learn the essential skills they need to live and work in the 21st century. From Microsoft Office and email, to reading, math, and more—GCFGlobal.org offers more than 300 topics, including more than 6,000 lessons, more than 2,000 videos, and more than 50 interactives and games, completely free.
DigitalLearn.org This link opens in a new window
If you are new to computers, haven't used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.

Local Help

The Small Business Center at Blue Ridge Community College offers Free, Confidential Business Advice as well as free Small Business Training

Mountain Bizworks believes in local dreamers–like you–and provide the resources you need to start and build a successful business.

SCORE provides free and confidential one-on-one business counseling by phone, email, and in-person in Western North Carolina. We also conduct workshops for both start-up entrepreneurs and seasoned small business owners.